Trying to Increase Our Veggie Intake

We’re working on our veggies consumption in my household. It’s a process, to be sure. Tonight, though, I’ve made roasted veggies. Nothing special, though I wish I’d thought to take pictures… we had parsnips, red beets, rutabaga, and gold beets tossed with olive oil and some freshly ground salt and pepper as well as the ubiquitous “italian seasoning”. I also added a splash of lemon juice. Very tasty,

I’ve also been eating a lot of cucumber and cream cheese salad. Last week, when I was very broke, I also had a lot of Progresso minestrone and vegetable soups (because they were on sale). Like I said, it’s a process.

Here’s a round up of a few blogs and articles that I’ve found helpful as well as a few recipes I’d like to try, based on my desire to eat more veggies:

The blog A Veggie Venture has all sorts of wonderful resources.

An article at Wholesome Goodness: 11 Ways to Eat (and Enjoy!) More Vegetables.

Tangerine Carrot Cupcakes at White on Rice Couple

Stuffed Peppers from Escape from Obesity

Caprese Gelato at Bruno’s Dream sounds really interesting. And tasty. Caprese salad is one of my favorite foods.

Asparagus Flan from Orangette though I’d probably end up making a broccoli flan instead because my husband seems to have a bit of a bias against asparagus. Or, I could just make it for myself and maybe share with friends – I love asparagus.

Zucchini Polenta Tart from Chocolate & Zucchini. We both love polenta, so this would probably be quite lovely for us.

Also, although I’ve not got a particular recipe I want to make, I’ve really been craving tomato-based cabbage soup. Mmm.

If you’ve got any “must try” vegetable recipes, please let me know.

Published in: on September 15, 2008 at 12:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thisredheadeats.wordpress.com/2008/09/15/trying-to-increase-our-veggie-intake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Would this cabbage soup work for you?

    Thanks for the shout-out, good for you, working on it a day (and a bite) at a time.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

